Cowboys Golfers Ready for Paintbrush Invitational

Laramie — The Wyoming Cowboys will make a short drive down I-25 to Parker, Colo., on Monday and Tuesday, Oct. 8-9 to play in the Paintbrush Invitational hosted by the University of Denver.

Wyoming has had a week off, since continuing their strong fall performance with an eighth-place finish out of 17 teams in the William H. Tucker Invitational.  Cowboy junior Dan Starzinski and true freshman Kirby Coe-Kirkham led the way for the Cowboys, tying for 13th at the Tucker.

The Cowboy lineup has featured a balanced attack this season, with five difference Cowboys posting Top 25 tournament finishes this fall. 

Leading the way has been junior Starzinski, who has placed in the Top 25 in all four fall tournaments to date, including winning the Ram Masters Invitational, shooting a tournament record 199 (-11).

Here are the top finishes for the Cowboys’ five leading players this season.

Dan Starzinski (1st at Ram Masters, 10th at Mark Simpson Colorado Invitational, 12th a Gene Miranda Falcon Invitational and 13th a William H. Tucker Invitational)

John Murdock (6th at Mark Simpson, 17th at Gene Miranda)

Kirby Coe-Kirkham (13th at William H. Tucker, 14th at Mark Simpson)

Carl Underwoood (23rd at Gene Miranda)

Tyler Severin (25th at Gene Miranda)

Five of the 12 teams in the upcoming Paintbrush Invitational will be from the Front Range.  In addition to host Denver, Wyoming, Colorado, Colorado State and Northern Colorado will be competing.  Two Pac-12 teams, Oregon and Washington State, along with Loyola-Marymount, Pacific and UTEP will be in the field.  South Dakota and George Washington round out the 12-team field.

•Here is where the teams are ranked heading into this week’s DU Paintbrush Invitational field based on the Golfweek/Sagarin Men’s College Team Ratings of 295 teams as of Oct. 1, 2018: Oregon (48), Colorado State (73), Colorado (86), Wyoming (99), Denver (111), South Dakota (118), Washington State (127), Northern Colorado (131), Loyola-Marymount (141), Pacific (182), UTEP (194) and George Washington (223).

Tracy RingolsbyComment