Cowboys Hoops Joins 2018 Final Four Loyola Chicago in Fort Myers Tip-Off

The University of Wyoming men’s basketball schedule got even more challenging on Thursday with the addition of the Inaugural Fort Myers Tip-Off to the 2018-19 non-conference slate, one of two pre-season tournaments on the Cowboys schedule.

The Tip-Off field also includes Boston College of the ACC, Loyola Chicago of the Missouri Valley Conference and Richmond of the Atlantic 10 Conference. The tournament runs Nov. 19-21 with all four games to be televised live one FS1.

The Cowboys also are scheduled to play in the Sun Bowl Invitational Dec. 21-22. Eastern Tennessee, Norfolk State and Texas-El Paso also are in that tournament. 

Loyola Chicago made the Final Four last season, which could mark back-to-back campaigns the Pokes’ have played a team that is coming off a Final Four Appearances. The Cowboys faced South Carolina last season.

The Fort Myers Tip-Off will begin on Monday, Nov. 19 with two historic, first-ever matchups when Loyola meets Richmond at 4:30 p.m. MT and the Cowboys challenge Boston College at 7 p.m. MT,. Losing teams will compete for third-place on Wednesday, Nov. 21 at 3 p.m. MT while the winning teams will advance to the Championship game that will conclude the tournament later that day at 5:30 p.m. MT.

Adding intrigue to these matchups are the talented and experienced players that each team returns in 2018-19. 

Loyola returns the reigning Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year, Clayton Custer, along with two other starters from their Final Four team.

Three starters and the top two scorers return for Richmond, including Grant Golden who broke the school record for points scored by a freshman (498).

Boston College returns four starters, including Ky Bowman, who averaged 17.6 points, 6.8 rebounds, and 4.7 assists per game last season.

Wyoming returns leading scorer Justin James, a 6’7 senior guard who averaged 18.9 points, 6.0 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game.

The tournament will be hosted by Suncoast Credit Union Arena, a $28 million state-of-the-art arena that opened in 2016 and seats approximately 3,500 fans. The arena is located on Florida Southwestern College’s Lee Campus and serves primarily as the home court for the Buccaneers’ basketball and volleyball teams.

Outside of the action in Fort Myers, Grambling State, IUPUI, Niagara and St. Francis will participate in the Fort Myers Tip-Off Opening Games against the schools that will compete in Fort Myers. Boston College hosts St. Francis and IUPUI, Loyola hosts Niagara and Grambling State, Richmond hosts St. Francis and IUPUI, and Wyoming hosts Grambling State and Niagara.

2018-19 Cowboys Basketball Schedule

Day Date Opponent
Thursday Nov. 1 Colorado Christian (exhibition)
Tuesday Nov. 6 UC Santa Barbara
Saturday Nov. 10 at Oregon State
Wednesday Nov. 14 Grambling
Friday Nov. 16 Niagara
Monday Nov. 19 Fort Myers Classic vs. Boston College
Nov. 21 Fort Myers Classic vs. Loyola or Richmond
Wednesday Nov. 28 at Evansville
Saturday Dec. 1 Northern Colorado
Wednesday Dec. 5 South Carolina
Tuesday Dec. 11 Denver
Friday Dec. 21 Sun Bowl Invitational vs. East Tennessee
Saturday Dec. 22 Sun Bowl Invitational vs. UTEP or Norfolk St
Sunday Dec. 29 Dixie State
Wednesday Jan. 2 Boise State
Saturday Jan. 5 at UNLV
Wednesday Jan. 9 at San Diego State
Saturday Jan. 12 Utah State
Saturday Jan. 19 at New Mexico
Wednesday Jan. 23 San Jose State
Saturday Jan. 26 at Boise State
Wednesday Jan. 30 Fresno State
Wednesday Feb. 6 at Air Force
Saturday Feb. 9 Colorado State
Wednesday Feb. 13 at Utah State
Saturday Feb. 16 Nevada
Wednesday Feb. 20 UNLV
Saturday Feb. 23 at Colorado State
Wednesday Feb. 27 at Fresno State
Saturday Mar. 2 Air Force
Wednesday Mar. 6 at San Jose State
Saturday Mar. 9 New Mexico
Mountain West Tournament
Wednesday Mar. 13 MWC First Round
Thursday Mar. 14 MWC Quarterfinals
Friday Mar. 15 MWC Semifinals
Saturday Mar. 16 MWC Championship
Tracy RingolsbyComment