Updated: Arenado (MVP) and Black (Manager of Year) Finalists for BBWAA Awards

Odds to win NL MVP
Christian Yelich 4/9
Javier Baez 9/5
Nolan Arenado 17/2
Odds to win NL Cy Young
Jacob deGrom 1/5
Max Scherzer 7/2
Aaron Nola 18/1
Odds to win NL Rookie Of The Year
Ronald Acuña, Jr 1/3
Juan Soto 11/5
Walker Buehler 28/1
Odds to win 2018 AL MVP
Mookie Betts 4/17
Mike Trout 9/2
Jose Ramirez 8/1
Odds to win AL Cy Young
Blake Snell 5/12
Corey Kluber 4/1
Justin Verlander 4/1
Odds to win AL Rookie Of The Year
Shohei Ohtani 1/2
Miguel Andujar 2/1
Gleyber Torres 10/1
Odds coursty www.bovada.lv
Year Nolan Arenado Awards
2013 Gold Glove, 7th Rookie of the Year
2014 Gold Glove
2015 Gold Glove, Siliver Slugger, 8th MVP
2016 Gold Glove, Silver Slugger, 5th MVP
2017 Gold Glove, Silver Slugger, 4th MVP
2018 Gold Gliver, TBD: Silver Slugger, MVP

Rockies manager Bud Black and third baseman Nolan Arenado are finalists for key Baseball Writers’ Association of America awards, which will be announced next week. Arenado is one of the three finalists for the NL MVP, and Black, for the second year in a row, is a finalist for the NL Manager of the Year. 

The Manager of the Year Awards will be announced Nov. 13 at 4 p.m., MDT, with the MVP awards on Nov. 15th, also at 4 p.m.

On Monday, Arenado claimed his sixth Gold Glove in six big-league seasons. He is on the ballot for the NL MVP for the fourth consecutive season, and is assured of the highest finish of his career. He came in fourth in the voting a year ago.

The other NL MVP finalists this year are outfielder Christian Yelich of Milwaukee, and infielder Javier Baez of the Cubs. Odds have Arenado as third out of the three players in likelihood to win the award.

The AL MVP finalists are Mookie Betts of the Red Sox, Jose Ramirez of the Indians, and Mike Trout of the Angels.

Black In Manager of the Year Voting
2007 NL Manager of the Year (5th)
2009 NL Manager of the Year (8th)
2010 NL Manager of the Year (1st)
2012 NL Manager of the Year (5th)
2014 NL Manager of the Year (8th)
2017 NL Manager of the Year (3rd)

Black is a finalist for the second time in his two years as the Rockies manager. He was voted the NL Manager of the Year with the Padres in 2010. He has been among the NL vote-getters in six of his 10 managerial seasons.

Joining Black as finalist for the NL Manager of the Year are Brian Snitker of the Braves and Craig Counsell of the Brewers. Counsell was a draft choice of the Rockies in 1992, the year before the big-league team played its first game, and made his MLB debut with the Rockies before being traded to the Marlins.

The AL finalists are Kevin Cash of the Rays, Alex Cora of the Red Sox and Bob Melvin of the A’s.

The presentation of the BBWAA awards will be televised live by MLB Network.

Finalists for the other awards:


AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Miguel Andújar of the Yankees, Shohei Ohtani of the Angels, and Gleyber Torres of the Yankees.

NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Ronald Acuña, Jr. of the Braves, Walker Buehler of the Los Angeles of the Dodgers, and Juan Soto of the Nationals. 

Nov. 14

AL Cy Young Award: Corey Kluber of the Indians, Blake Snell of the Rays, and Justin Verlander of the Astros. 

NL Cy Young Award: Jacob deGrom of the Mets, Aaron Nola of the Phillies, and Max Scherzer of the Nationals.


Tracy RingolsbyComment